The Cam’s Cause team has worked with a variety of government and local sporting groups to establish a number of awards and scholarships in honour of Corporal Baird. These initiatives have been set up to reward and inspire young Australians who exemplify courage, leadership and selflessness, attributes that Corporal Baird lived his own life by.

Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG medal – School Sport Victoria

School Sport Victoria will honour the memory of Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG and achievements by awarding the Cpl Cameron Baird VC MG medal to the captain of the School Sport Victoria 12 years and under Australian Football team. The team captain will also be presented with the number 4 jumper each year, being the jumper number worn by Cameron in 1993.

Award recipients

2014: Darby Hipwell
2015: Finn O’Callaghan

Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG Memorial Awards – Hume City Council

The inaugural Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG Memorial Awards were established by Hume City Council to recognise the legacy of Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG, a Hume local and national hero who passed away in 2013.They are intended to encourage young people to be like Corporal Cameron Baird to strive to be the best they can be.

The two winners of the inaugural awards were announced at a formal ceremony on Wednesday 22 April 2015.

The caliber of the nominations received set a high standard and remind us of the amazing talent, drive and community commitment that young Hume people have.

Award winner – Sarah Mackin

Sarah Mackin and Cr Adem Atmaca

Sarah Mackin and Cr Adem Atmaca

Sarah has been described as someone who is inspired by those that have overcome obstacles in their own lives to achieve amazing things.

Sarah is passionate about her local community and is an avid volunteer – particularly through Hume Whittlesea Local Learning and Employment Network and the Kangan Youth Foyer.

Sarah strives to make every day count, and has a passion to catalyze change in community development.

She will soon commence in a volunteer mentor role to a young person in need through the Big Brother/Big Sister program.

Since experiencing a period of homelessness, Sarah decided that it was up to her to improve her life chances. Her dream is to work alongside young people in a voluntary capacity overseas.

The award will assist with costs associated with the international volunteering opportunity, supporting travel costs such as flights, accommodation and a small stipend for living expenses.

Award winner – Angela Atonio

Angela Atonio and Cr Adem Atmaca

Angela Atonio and Cr Adem Atmaca

Angela has been described as someone who is passionate about change and for making a difference in the community, particularly with young people.

Earlier this year, she was named Hume Young Citizen of the Year at Council’s 2015 Australia Day Awards.

She is also highly active member of the community and has played a leading role in the delivery of community events, including the 2014 Change it Up Youth Forum, RUOK Campaign and White Ribbon Day activities.

She is a strong role model, with admirable leadership skills.

Angela will use the award to attend the 2016 Youth Summit in Canberra and to take two other young Hume leaders with her to gain more experience and knowledge from other leaders.

Award Selection Panel

To assist us in our deliberations, an assessment panel was established to review all submitted nominations. The selection panel, included:

  • Mr Ken Thompson, former Principal of the Gladstone Park Secondary College;
  • Mr Chris Dyer, childhood friend of Cameron’s who also acted as a family representative;
  • Lieutenant Colonel Peter Baxter, Commander of the Maygar Barracks;
  • Hume Mayor Cr Adem Atmaca
  • Council Officers

Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG Medal – Calder Cannons Football Club

Corporal Baird was an excellent junior footballer with aspirations of one day playing AFL for his beloved Carlton Football Club like his father Doug had done before him.

During his football career, Cameron was a well respected member of the Calder Cannons Football Club, playing along side future AFL premiership champions Jude Bolton and Paul Chapman among others.

In honour of one of the clubs most admired past players, the Calder Cannons struck the Corporal Cameron Baird VC MG medal to be awarded to the most courageous player.

Award recipients

2014: James Lathan
2015: Mitch Conn